[Review] Big Fig Mattress

IMG_20170327_145138Have you thought about how little appreciation your bed gets in everyday life? It’s not just for sleeping; it’s also a nice platform for toddlers to climb onto the changing table and paint an A&D ointment “masterpiece” on the wall (thanks, Creative Galaxy).

My real life tl;dr review is that the Big Fig mattress is THE REAL DEAL.

IMG_20170703_214212Back in March we got a new @bigfigmattress. I’ve been waiting to sleep on it awhile before giving a review but was thinking now is about the time. This is a phone snap of my real life Big Fig – no models or made beds here. The baby is asleep in the crib four feet away and that card is covering a period stain on the sheet. I’m going to go from the bottom to the top, so first up: the frame.

Big Fig offers a recycled railroad steel frame. I can’t budge it by myself. It’s seriously strong – I don’t think it’s going to move from where the delivery guys put it together. Our last bed frame was on plastic wheels that broke off; the Big Fig frame has nice sturdy feet with a little bumper pad on the bottom.

We bought a king size, so we have two boxspring platforms that are pushed together underneath the mattress. They’re a gorgeous indigo color and if I’m honest, I haven’t much to comment on them besides that. I’m not a boxspring expert.

The mattress is, in short, amazing. The firmness is startling after years on a lumpy, shitty mattress – but it is so wonderful. It’s soft and supportive. If you lie down on your back, it’s flat and firm enough that you can feel your spine start to settle down and straighten out. If you lie on your side, it gives enough to be comfortable but provides excellent support to your body. I tend to fall asleep on my back and roll to my side in the middle of the night.

IMG_20170405_070357

I’m five months postpartum, it’s been amazing to have the support after struggling with sciatica and a shitty memory foam mattress during pregnancy.  It’s also been a real RELIEF for my hot flashes and postpartum sweats; the bed sleeps cool just like they say. I do NOT get hot in the middle of the North Carolina night where our thermostat sits at 77 while running constantly. The mattress helps my back – it’s comfortable – it’s cool – it’s solid. It seems like it’s legit gonna hold up to mine and hubby’s big butts over time.

If for some reason it did not, I really like their warranty policy. Our last mattress was a Bed in the Box memory foam and had a separated foam top that buckled and body impression wallows 4″ deep in the mattress we sunk into, but the warranty didn’t kick in until there was a  6″ difference (can you imagine?). Big Fig’s 20 year warranty is superior; it only takes a 1″ body impression for them to repair or replace the mattress.

IMG_20170704_205432 I find it to be somewhat telling that since getting our Big Fig mattress, we’ve got a lot more photos taken on our bed. Like, three compared to none before. I think me and the kids may actually be spending more time just hanging out on the bed rolling around relaxing and snuggling.

The only bad part of the Big Fig mattress is the price. It’s going to be in the range of “expensive” for most peers I know. It’s going to perhaps seem even more expensive when you’re comparing the price to all the blowout mattress store sales that might be in your area. If you listen to/read this piece by Freakanomics, you’ll be probably be thinking hell, why am I paying extra for this mattress then, if the market is inflated?

Personally I think the extra testing of the mattress speaks well for Big Fig: better, more expensive materials means making and providing a better product to big-bodied customers at comparable prices. I would bet a good night’s sleep that Big Fig has smaller profit margins compared to other mattress makers in order to do it. “I guess that’s one benefit to an inflated market,” said my husband, as I explained this. AND HOW! They do have frequent sales with $100 – $200 off; we purchased during one of these sales.

They also seem to have really cute customer service. They reminded me that I’ve been wanting to write a review – they sent a little gift package with Bon Maman fig jam in it and a handwritten card. Talk about darling! (And tasty. I love Bon Maman.)

IMG_20170703_213955

If you’re big, get you a Big Fig! You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

